Posted by: Kathy White | July 22, 2010

If Only I Could Make My Parents Mind Me

I’m busy writing a longer post but I’m not happy with it yet. (Listen to me, now I’m being all self-critical — but I have the time.)

Anyway, find this story amusing from earlier this week and from my Mom in general. Both Mom and Dad struggle with some health issues and I’ve tried to convince them that they could use more help around the house. I can’t help right now but offered to set them up with something.

Mom’s answer? In the past week, she has gotten down on her 73-year-old hands and knees and scrubs the floor of her kitchen. And hoes in her yard, even though I’m paying for a perfectly nice guy to take care of their yard.

You try to raise your parents up right, but still, they just won’t listen.

So, here I sit. Feeling guilty that my folks are doing so much and I am not able to help at all. Oh, and they cleaned their carpets themselves in a couple of rooms, too. They are KILLING me.

Well, for those with less than mobile parents who insist on doing it all — you have my sympathy. Do what you can and just hope they don’t overdo it. At least, that’s what I hope for. Oh, and call them. They like that.

Responses

  1. I can totally relate to this!!! I’ve been trying to go over and help my mom at least once a week. Last week was cleaning out the shed. It’s hard for her to admit that she needs help.

  2. Seriously. I know it’s tough for them. I don’t want to step on their toes or in to their life too much, but the other side is worrying about when it IS time to step in and say “no, we’re doing it this way.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

